First off, I apologize for the long space in between posts.  Real life and all that…
Oh!  And the friend from my last post?  He proposed.  They’re thisclose to setting a date (yay!).  Now on to the planning!

On that note, I wanted to do my first picture-blog, featuring one of my favorite elements to any wedding – the cake topper!

I know the trend lately is to forego this “cheesy” old tradition in favor of an understated flower arrangement or a monogram, or else decorate the entire cake.  And those can ALL look beautiful and be extremely personal.  This is in no way meant to diminish the beauty or personality of these looks.  In fact, all three are illustrated below. 

A great example of the understated flowers-only look.  Image courtesy of Melissa McClure.

A great example of the understated flowers-only look. Image courtesy of Melissa McClure.

Classy Monogram Cake Topper by White Crush Wedding

Classy Monogram Cake Topper by White Crush Wedding

A gorgeous cake decorated all over with icing and flowers.  What a stunner!  Image credit: ME!

A gorgeous cake decorated all over with icing and flowers. What a stunner! Image credit: ME!

 

But I have to admit to really loving the “traditional” cake topper, cheesy as it can be.  I can’t help it – there’s something about a bride and groom together on a cake that makes me smile.  Whether it’s vintage:

Restored vintage cake topper by BrassPaperClip, found on Etsy

Restored vintage cake topper by BrassPaperClip, found on Etsy

 

Vintage Cake Topper Sold by Meg4Mom, Etsy

Vintage Cake Topper Sold by Meg4Mom, found on Etsy

 

More vintage!  Sold by Johnny Vintage, found on Etsy

More vintage! Sold by Johnny Vintage, found on Etsy

Can you tell I love vintage?  This is a posting on Ebay.  If you're reading this before March 12th, search "vintage wedding cake topper".  If not, the auction has finished.  Sorry!

Can you tell I love vintage? This is a posting on Ebay. If you're reading this before March 12th, search "vintage wedding cake topper". If not, the auction has finished. Sorry!

 

 Or new, I just can’t help myself.  Now that I’ve given you an idea of vintage cake toppers out there (vintage toppers are available all over the place but they come and go, so if you like one, GET IT!), I’ll share some of my favorite new ones, with the websites where they can be found.  There is literally a topper for just about everything, from an uber-nerdy groom to a pregnant bride.  I’ve only barely skimmed off the top of what’s out there, but it was so much fun to research!

Just a disclaimer: these are not the only sites out there selling unique and fun cake toppers, and I’ve seen several of the toppers on multiple sites.  I don’t have an affiliation with any of the sites, nor can I vouch for anyone’s customer service except Little Things Favors (I used them for my own wedding).  I also can’t guarantee that these are the lowest-priced sites.  I just want to see pretty pictures!

Enjoy!

A super-cute kissing cake topper we used in a table top for our wedding.  I love it!

A super-cute kissing cake topper we used in a table top for our wedding. I love it!

My favorite new cake topper - a PINCH!

My favorite new cake topper - a PINCH!

 

Jewish couple cake topper

Jewish couple cake topper

Indian couple cake topper

Indian couple cake topper

 

Sweet "Frog Prince" themed princess bride topper

Sweet "Frog Prince" themed princess bride topper

Pretty beachy cake topper for seaside weddings

Pretty beachy cake topper for seaside weddings

A baseball-themed topper; there's also soccer and football!

A baseball-themed topper; there's also soccer and football!

Funny spy theme...  I can think of a couple who would love this...  At least, he would!

Funny spy theme... I can think of a couple who would love this... At least, he would!Updated version of the traditional topper. Tres elegant!Pretty Classic Disney Cinderella Cake Topper. This is one of the few on this page over $50.

 

Gorgeous wedding coach cake topper

Gorgeous wedding coach cake topper

Elegant First Dance Topper

Elegant First Dance Topper

I couldn't resist this cute frog wedding cake topper!

I couldn't resist this cute frog wedding cake topper!

Super-fun and joyful kissing topper.  I love the energy!

Super-fun and joyful kissing topper. I love the energy!

 

Happy "leg pop" topper.

Happy "leg pop" topper.

Caution: these aren't cheap.  But they're the least expensive custom toppers I've seen, and they come in all sorts of styles.  Super fun!

Caution: these aren't cheap. But they're the least expensive custom toppers I've seen, and they come in all sorts of styles. Super fun!

 

This is the only place I've found this beautiful beach-themed topper!  Wow!

This is the only place I've found this beautiful beach-themed topper! Wow!

A few sites to check out:
You’d also be surprised where there are some beautiful and interesting choices:
There is no point, except that there’s a lot out there.  Have fun with what there is and get what works best for you!
ETA: I don’t know what was up with wordpress’ photo software today but it did some weird deleting and combining when I posted.  I think I fixed it all.  But if you notice anything that just totally doesn’t match the picture, please let me know.  I promise I’m not crazy…  Just annoyed with the program.
